Voss wins AFLPA's MVP award - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Voss wins AFLPA's MVP award

By John Salvado 26/09/2003 10:01:58 PM Comments (0)

Not for the first time, AFL player and umpires are at odds, with the players voting Brisbane skipper Michael Voss as the 2003 Most Valuable Player ahead of all three Brownlow medallists.

Voss was named a runaway winner of the AFL Player's Association (AFLPA) MVP award for the second successive year.

Voss won the Leigh Matthews trophy - named after his Brisbane coach and inaugural award winner - with 153 votes.

Port Adelaide duo Gavin Wanganeen (63) and Warren Tredrea (41) filled the minor placings.

Collingwood captain Nathan Buckley tied for fourth with 32 votes to be the highest placed of the three Brownlow medallists.

Sydney ruckman Adam Goodes was sixth with 30 votes, while Adelaide skipper Mark Ricciuto was back in 10th position with 17.

Only six players in 20 years have won the Brownlow Medal and the AFLPA MVP in the same year - the most recent being Hawthorn skipper Shane Crawford in 1999.

Voss - who last year shared the MVP with Western Bulldogs ruckman Luke Darcy - was also voted the AFLPA's best captain for the third straight year ahead of Crawford and Essendon's James Hird.

Kangaroos defender Glenn Archer won the "most courageous" award for the fourth time, while team-mate Daniel Wells was voted the best first-year player.

The Marn Grook award, sponsored by ATSIC, for the best emerging indigenous player went to Adelaide's Graham Johncock.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news