Nine bidding to host Rugby World Cups - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Nine bidding to host Rugby World Cups

02/10/2008 09:50:21 AM Comments (0)

A record nine countries confirmed their intent to bid for the 2015 or 2019 Rugby World Cups.

Australia, England, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Scotland, South Africa and Wales want the 2015 Cup, while Australia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Russia, Scotland, South Africa and Wales will vie to host the 2019 tournament, the International Rugby Board said in a statement.

Jamaica withdrew its interest before Tuesday's deadline.

All but Italy, Japan and Russia have hosted World Cup games.

The bidding nations have until May to submit detailed proposals. The hosts for both tournaments will be selected at a special meeting of the IRB council on July 28.

It's the first time the IRB is awarding two tournaments at the same time.

New Zealand beat Japan to host the next World Cup in 2011.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news