NZ among four applicants for Women's RWC - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

NZ among four applicants for Women's RWC

10/11/2009 01:42:33 PM Comments (0)

Kazakhstan, New Zealand, Samoa and USA have all declared a formal interest in hosting the 2014 women's rugby World Cup the International Rugby Board announced on Monday.

Rugby World Cup Limited will now analyse the tenders prior to the IRB Council selecting the Host Union for Women's Rugby World Cup 2014 at its meeting in May.

"We are looking forward to the biggest Women's Rugby World Cup to date in England in 2010 and have been working closely with the RFU to deliver a wonderful tournament, reaching new fans and further raising the profile of the Women's Game," said IRB Women's Development Manager Susan Carty.

"The host of the Women's Rugby World Cup 2014 can build on this and we can bring the tournament to one of the four countries, all of which have a strong tradition in Women's Rugby."

The qualification process for the 2010 finals concluded last week with Kazakhstan beating Japan 43-5 in Singapore to secure the last remaining place as the Asia qualifier.

They will join defending champions New Zealand, 2006 runners up and hosts England, bronze medallists France, Canada, South Africa, USA, Wales, Ireland, Scotland, Sweden and Australia in the 12-team tournament.

With all the teams now confirmed, the Pools will be announced shortly for the tournament which runs from August 20 to September 5.

The qualification process saw 16 teams take part, doubling the eight teams which attempted to reach Women's Rugby World Cup 2006 in Edmonton, Canada, via this route.

The previous hosts of Women's Rugby World Cup are Wales (1991), Scotland (1994), the Netherlands (1998), Spain (2002) and Canada (2006).

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2023 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news