Brumbies name same team for Sharks clash - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Brumbies name same team for Sharks clash

10/03/2010 03:13:52 PM Comments (0)

In a Super 14 rugby competition where injuries play a key part, the Brumbies are enjoying a dream early run which augurs well for their finals hopes.

For the fourth match in a row the Brumbies have been able to name the same 22-man squad as they prepare for Saturday's clash with the Sharks at Canberra Stadium.

The only change to the starting team in the past month has seen Ben Hand promoted from the bench at veteran Justin Harrison's expense after the defeat by the Bulls, while the same side has since beaten other South African teams the Stormers and the Lions.

"It is a luxury to name the same 22 players for four matches in a row," said coach Andy Friend.

"It gives you a chance to build combinations, it gives players confidence, and our strength and conditioning and medical staff have done a great job in ensuring we can run out the same guys week in and week out."

Despite defeating the Lions 24-13 in a scrappy return home last Friday, Friend is demanding much better from his sixth-placed team.

"Last week (against the Lions) we were a bit off," he said. "I guess part of that could be put down to travelling back from South Africa, part of it could be put down to the wet conditions, but these factors are realities of playing in this competition and we need to be better than that."

Winless in 2010, the Sharks haven't won in Canberra since their 41-23 victory in 1998.

Brumbies: Adam Ashley-Cooper, Pat McCabe, Stirling Mortlock, Christian Lealiifano, Francis Fainifo, Matt Giteau, Josh Valentine, Stephen Hoiles (capt), George Smith, Rocky Elsom, Mark Chisholm, Ben Hand, Salesi Maafu, Stephen Moore, Ben Alexander. Res: Huia Edmonds, Guy Shepherdson, Justin Harrison, Mitchell Chapman, Patrick Phibbs, Matt Toomua, Tyrone Smith.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2023 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news