Riewoldt wins AFL players' award - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Riewoldt wins AFL players' award

24/09/2004 09:27:09 PM Comments (0)

St Kilda key forward Nick Riewoldt has been named the AFL Players' Association's most valuable player.

Riewoldt won the Leigh Matthews Trophy, the last of the major post-season player awards, with 118 votes, three ahead of Brownlow Medallist Chris Judd.

Port Adelaide captain Warren Tredrea, a favourite for the Brownlow, was surprisingly well off the pace in third with only 67.

In his third AFL season, 21-year-old Riewoldt took a league-best 226 marks and kicked 60 goals.

He formed a lethal double act in attack with the Saints' Coleman Medallist Fraser Gehrig.

Last year's MVP, Brisbane skipper Michael Voss was named the best club captain ahead of Essendon's James Hird and Adelaide's Mark Ricciuto.

The peer-based awards featured votes from nearly 600 active AFL players.

Carlton best and fairest defender David Teague won the prestige "most courageous player" award.

Melbourne forward Aaron Davey was named the best first year player.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news