Martyn wins Test player of year - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Martyn wins Test player of year

By Adam Cooper 31/01/2005 10:41:09 PM Comments (0)

Batsman Damien Martyn was rewarded for his star-studded cricket year when he won the Australian Test Player of the Year award at the Allan Border Medal count.

Martyn's six centuries in three countries earned the 33-year-old 13 votes from teammates, media and umpires to beat fellow West Australian Justin Langer (10 votes) and legspinner Shane Warne (nine).

Martyn will head to New Zealand next month as arguably Australia's best batsman, when the last time he went across the Tasman in 1999-2000 he was unsure of his place after a six-year Test exile.

Martyn, who lost his place in the Test team after a heart-breaking loss to South Africa in the summer of 1993-94, is arguably the lowest-profile member of Australia's champion side, but his achievements during 2004-05 were remarkable and elevated him to star status.

He scored 1,373 in the 14 matches (average 59.70) during the voting period and struck six centuries - including two in Sri Lanka, two in successive innings in India and two in successive innings against Pakistan, in Perth and Melbourne.

His efforts were crucial towards helping Australia win 3-0 in Sri Lanka, when Ricky Ponting's side was in trouble in all three matches, and break a 35-year series drought in India.

Martyn was the Player of the Series in India and against Pakistan, which Australia also won 3-0.

Langer also joined Test cricket's elite during the past year.

The left-handed opener was the leading run-scorer in Test cricket in the 2004 calender year and among his efforts in the voting period were an unbeaten 215 against New Zealand in Adelaide and a double of 191 and 97 against Pakistan, in Perth.

Warne enjoyed a remarkable comeback year after a year's lay-off through a drug suspension.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news