Buckley wins sixth Magpie trophy - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Buckley wins sixth Magpie trophy

03/10/2003 10:28:50 PM Comments (0)

Collingwood captain and joint Brownlow Medallist Nathan Buckley made club history when he capped off an outstanding AFL season.

Buckley became the first Magpie to win six Copeland Trophies as Collingwood's best-and-fairest player, after previously sharing the record with legendary Magpie ruckman Len Thompson.

Buckley, who shared the Brownlow last month with Sydney ruckman Adam Goodes and Adelaide captain Mark Ricciuto, polled 77 votes in the Copeland voting.

He finished 13 votes clear of leading goalkicker Chris Tarrant, while Scott Burns was third on 54.

Also, Kangaroos onballer Brent Harvey, Geelong full-back Matthew Scarlett and Richmond youngster Mark Coughlan all won their first club best-and-fairest awards.

Harvey polled 37 votes to win the Syd Barker medal, while Shannon Grant was second on 34 and Adam Simpson was a vote further back in third.

Coughlan, one of few highlights in another disappointing season for the Tigers, polled 325 votes to win the Jack Dyer Medal.

Second was fellow midfielder Kane Johnson on 294 and Greg Tivendale was third with 234.

The 21-year-old became the youngest winner of the Dyer since former captain Matthew Knights won it in 1990 as a 20-year-old.

Couglan was also given the fan's choice award as player of the year, with the match committee casting votes for the Dyer.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news