Hewat wins Ken Catchpole Medal - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Hewat wins Ken Catchpole Medal

29/08/2006 12:23:31 AM Comments (0)

Prolific pointscoring Waratahs outside back Peter Hewat has won the Ken Catchpole Medal for the outstanding player in the NSW club rugby competition.

Manly captain and fullback Hewat, who was again overlooked for Test representation despite another productive Super campaign for NSW, polled 18 votes.

He finished four clear of Randwick lock and Australian sevens representative Shawn Mackay.

The Medal result was one of the highlights of the inaugural NSW Rugby Union Gala Awards at the Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre at Darling Harbour.

Coach of the year was awarded to Randwick's Todd Louden, who in his first season steered his side to the minor premiership and Saturday's grand final against Sydney University.

The Waratah Medal was awarded to former NSW captain and halfback Chris Whitaker, who made a record amount of appearances for the Waratahs before recently leaving to play in Ireland.

George Ayoub was named referee of the year.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2020 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news