Civoniceva voted Broncos best in 2006 - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Civoniceva voted Broncos best in 2006

05/10/2006 11:51:45 PM Comments (0)

Retiree Shane Webcke was the sentimental favourite, captain Darren Lockyer was everyone's tip, but both missed out on Brisbane's Player of the Year award behind popular prop Petero Civoniceva.

The giant Fijian was rewarded for his outstanding season which culminated in Brisbane's NRL grand final win over Melbourne, with the prestigious Paul Morgan award at the club's gala awards dinner.

The modest forward polled 41 points to deny Lockyer and Webcke who tied for second on 33 points.

Two points behind them was Justin Hodges, whose week-in and week-out efforts earned him the Most Consistent Player accolade.

Civoniceva played 26 games and scored three tries in 2006.

He averaged just over 25 tackles and 17 hit ups a game which ranked alongside his best in his nine seasons with the Broncos.

It was a wonderful year for 30-year-old Test forward Civoniceva, who also led Queensland's pack to glory in the State of Origin series.

Civoniceva though failed to make it a hat-trick of best forward awards, beaten to the honour by dual international Brad Thorn who capped off an amazing week in which he won his third premiership and became a father for the third time.

It was Civoniceva's second Player of the Year award following his win in 2004.

He has featured prominently in Brisbane's end of year awards since capturing the club's Rookie of the Year title in 1998.

That honour this year went to exciting teenage winger Darius Boyd, who proved a revelation in his debut season with a swag of tries.

Webcke was a runaway winner as Player's Player, an award highly regarded by the winner because it is chosen by his peers.

Lockyer, whose leadership was instrumental in Brisbane's sixth grand final victory, was named Back of the Year in a season in which he scored 12 tries and was credited with 25 try assists.

The Brisbane skipper also won the People's Choice player of the year award.

Other major award winners announced as the club celebrated its first premiership since 2000 were young forward Sam Thaiday (Most Improved and Encouragement Award) and veteran Tonie Carroll (Hit of the Year on Brent Webb in round 26).

Former forward and current football manager Andrew Gee, a past winner of the club's Player of the Year award, was named Clubman of the Year for his inspirational off-field exploits during the season.

Apart from presenting awards coach Wayne Bennett also delivered a stirring farewell speech to Webcke.

The Toowoomba Clydesdale's Player of the Year accolade went to promising prospect John TeReo with forward Ben Vaeau named the Player's Player.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2020 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news