World champions named rowers of the year - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

World champions named rowers of the year

10/12/2006 05:42:25 AM Comments (0)

Two Australian world champion crews have been honoured in the 2006 rower of the year awards.

In an awards function at the National Museum of Australia in Canberra, the men's coxless pair and women's double scull crews won the male and female awards respectively.

Duncan Free and Drew Ginn combined in the coxless pair at the 2006 world championships to claim gold.

Brooke Pratley and Elizabeth Kell were paired in the double scull and won the gold ahead of triple world champions Caroline and Georgina Evers-Swindell from New Zealand.

Rowing Australia's high performance director Noel Donaldson said the two crews deserved the honours.

"To win a world championship is an excellent effort," Donaldson said.

"Both crews have had an outstanding year and will be striving to repeat this success in the future.

"They have received due recognition for their performances."

Pratley also picked up the rowers' rower award, while David Peeble received the coaches' gong.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2023 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news