Ten wins AFL grand final coin toss - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Ten wins AFL grand final coin toss

21/12/2006 06:41:28 PM Comments (0)

The Ten Network will televise next year's AFL grand final after winning a coin toss with the Seven Network.

The two networks jointly own the AFL's television broadcast rights for the next five seasons.

The coin toss was decided on as a way of splitting the odd number of grand finals between the two networks.

The successful result for Ten means they will show the premiership deciders in 2007, 2009 and 2011, while Seven will have 2008 and 2010, the Ten Network announced.

Ten has shown the grand final for the past five seasons, as part of its joint deal with the Nine Network and Foxtel over that period.

The grand final was the second most-watched television program nationally this year, behind the Commonwealth Games opening ceremony.

It is yet to be determined whether Seven and Ten will on-sell some AFL matches to Foxtel over the next five years.

However, that prospect seems increasingly unlikely given their failure to agree to terms with the pay-TV provider since submitting the winning bid to the AFL almost a year ago.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news