Aussie Test team unchanged - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Aussie Test team unchanged

18/04/2003 06:02:33 AM Comments (0)

Australia will again field five specialist bowlers against the West Indies after selectors named an unchanged team for Saturday's second Test in Port of Spain.

Captain Steve Waugh confirmed the team which beat the Windies by nine wickets in last week's first Test in Georgetown would also play on a grassier wicket at Queen's Park Oval.

That leaves Waugh the option of mixing between pacemen Jason Gillespie, Brett Lee and Andrew Bichel and wrist spinners Stuart MacGill and Brad Hogg.

Australia will defend the Frank Worrell Trophy if it wins in Trinidad before strike bowler Glenn McGrath returns for the third Test in Barbados.

McGrath, who wasn't available for the opening two Tests while he remained in Sydney with ill wife Jane, is expected to arrive in Trinidad on Tuesday.

Australia: Stephen Waugh (capt), Matthew Hayden, Justin Langer, Ricky Ponting, Darren Lehmann, Adam Gilchrist, Brad Hogg, Andrew Bichel, Brett Lee, Jason Gillespie, Stuart MacGill, Martin Love (12th man).

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2021 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news