Roff, Latham share Super 12 award - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Roff, Latham share Super 12 award

26/05/2003 09:51:13 PM Comments (0)

The battle to wear the Wallaby fullback jersey remains a tug-of-war with Joe Roff and Chris Latham sharing the Australian Super 12 Player of the Year award.

The ACT and Queensland custodians received the award at a black tie dinner in Sydney after polling 15 points, one more than NSW flanker Phil Waugh.

Early favourite ACT flanker George Smith failed to finish in the top five, with votes allocated by Super 12 referees.

Waratahs Mat Rogers and David Lyons shared fourth place with 11 votes.

Latham won the award previously in 2000 and Roff in 1999, while the prize was also shared in its inaugural year in 1998, with Stephen Larkham and John Eales the recipients.

ACT utility back Matt Giteau, who was a certainty for further Wallaby honours until his knee injury late in the season, was named Rookie of the Year, polling three points clear of Waratah flanker Rocky Elsom and Queensland halfback Josh Valentine.

The 20-year-old, who mostly played inside centre in his debut year, impressed all with his electric footwork and deft passing game.

Peter Marshall won the Australian Super 12 referee while Brumbies coach David Nucifora was named coach of the year after steering his side to consecutive playoffs.

Roff's award came after taking a year out of Australian rugby to play club football in France, while Latham still managed to top the poll despite missing three games with ankle and rib injuries.

The Queensland gamebreaker, who recently turned his back on a lucrative contract to play in Ireland to remain with the Reds, is set to edge Roff for the Test No.15 jersey.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2023 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news