Ireland name rugby squad for Australia - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Ireland name rugby squad for Australia

10/05/2008 06:49:21 AM Comments (0)

Ireland named the following 37-man squad on Friday for their warm-up match against the Barbarians on May 27 and subsequent tour to New Zealand and Australia.

The Irish Rugby Football Union said the large squad reflected the fact that additional players had been included for the Barbarians game when Munster players would not be available.

Munster are appearing the Heineken Cup final on May 24.

Gordon D'Arcy, Leo Cullen and Andrew Trimble were not considered because of injuries.

Ireland named Declan Kidney as their new head coach on Wednesday although he will not be preparing the team for the summer tours. The squad was named by the interim coaching staff.


Backs: Tommy Bowe, Isaac Boss, Ian Dowling, Girvan Dempsey, Gavin Duffy, Luke Fitzgerald, Shane Horgan, Robert Kearney, Geordan Merphy, Brian O'Driscoll (Captain), Ronan O'Gara, Eoin Reddan, Jonathon Sexton*, Peter Stringer, Paddy Wallace

Forwards: Neil Best*, Rory Best, Tony Buckley, Tom Court*, Bob Casey*, Ryan Caldwell*, Stephen Ferris*, Jerry Flannery, John Hayes, Jamie Heaslip, Marcus Horan, Bernard Jackman, Shane JenningS, Denis Leamy, Donncha O'Callaghan, Paul O'Connell, Mick O'Driscoll, Malcolm O'Kelly, Alan Quinlan, Mike Ross*, David Wallace, Bryan Young

*Players for Barbarians match squad but will not be travelling to New Zealand & Australia

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news