Storm make changes for nine absentees - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Storm make changes for nine absentees

13/05/2008 03:17:01 PM Comments (0)

Brett Anderson and Dane Nielsen will make their Melbourne debuts on the wing in Saturday night's NRL clash against St George Illawarra as the Storm were forced into a raft of changes to cover for their nine Origin absentees.

The Storm have six players in the Maroons side and three in the NSW lineup for Origin I in Sydney on May 21.

The Melbourne backline has been completely recast with five backs absent on rep duty.

Sam Tagataese will start in the centres alongside Will Chambers, Steve Tuner moves to fullback and Russ Aitken replaces Greg Inglis at five-eighth and Nielsen and Anderson debut on the wing.

In the forwards, Clifford Manua has been named to start in the front row alongside Antonio Kaufusi, while Sika Manu returns from injury in the backrow, and Aiden Tolman will start at lock.

Veteran utility Matt Geyer replaces Maroons captain Cameron Smith at hooker.

Melbourne: Steve Turner, Brett Anderson, Will Chambers, Sam Tagataese, Dane Nielsen, Russ Aitken, Cooper Cronk, Clifford Manua, Matt Geyer, Antonio Kaufusi, Jeremy Smith, Sika Manu, Aiden Tolman. Interchange: Liam Foran, Kevin Proctor, Scott Anderson, Sinbad Kali, Lucas Miller (one to be omitted).

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news