Sacked Bronco earns Origin II night nod - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Sacked Bronco earns Origin II night nod

02/06/2008 06:12:34 PM Comments (0)

A rollercoaster ride for sacked Broncos hooker Ian Lacey took another twist after he earned a representative nod for next Wednesday's Origin II program in Brisbane.

Lacey - dumped by the Broncos after an off-field incident at the end of 2007 - was named in the Queensland Residents team to tackle their NSW counterparts at Suncorp Stadium next week.

The game will be the curtain raiser for the Origin II showdown.

Lacey beat out competition from another former Bronco Michael Roberts for the Queensland Residents rake spot when he helped Country down City 25-18 in the annual grudge match in Clermont last Saturday.

The nuggety hooker was a last minute addition to the Country team, replacing North Queensland Cowboys No.9 and Kiwi international David Faiumu.

Lacey, 23, has grabbed a rugby league lifeline from Queensland Cup team Ipswich with both hands since having his NRL contract torn up by the Broncos.

Lacey and another former Bronco John Te Reo, 21, were originally charged with grievous bodily harm over the October off-field incident but on May 14 pleaded guilty in the Brisbane Magistrates Court to the lesser charge of assault occasioning bodily harm.

They were given suspended six-month prison sentences for the early morning bashing of a man outside a Brisbane pub.

Brisbane Norths mentor Mark Gee has been named Queensland Residents coach.

Queensland Residents: Nick Parfitt (Burleigh), Kaine Manihera (Redcliffe), Brett Kelly (Souths Logan), Karl Johnson (Central Comets), Kyle Lodge (Souths Logan), Brad Davis (capt, Tweed), Josh Lewis (Ipswich), Isaak Ah Mau (Ipswich), Ian Lacey (Ipswich), Scott Bolton (Northern Pride), Martin Griese (Burleigh), Luke Swain (Tweed), Luke Dalziel-Don (Wynnum Manly). Interchange: Selasi Berdie (Tweed), Lewis Balcomb (Souths Logan), Clint Amos (Tweed Seagulls), Adam Fielder (Burleigh Bears).

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news