Ten vie to stage 2015, 2019 World Cups - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Ten vie to stage 2015, 2019 World Cups

16/08/2008 08:37:14 AM Comments (0)

Russia and Jamaica have joined Australia among a record 10 nations which have expressed interest in hosting the 2015 or 2019 Rugby World Cups.

The International Rugby Board hailed the "unprecedented response" on Friday to its call for bids to host the tournaments, including one from 85th-ranked Jamaica which has never played at a World Cup.

"This is tremendous news for Rugby World Cup," IRB chairman Bernard Lapasset said.

"The fact that 10 member unions have signalled their intention to tender for the 2015 and 2019 tournaments reflects the growing global prestige of the Rugby World Cup.

"Five of the six IRB regions are represented, with Italy, Jamaica and Russia signalling an interest to tender for a Rugby World Cup for the first time. Such a response highlights the growing development and popularity of rugby across the world."

Australia, England, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Scotland, South Africa and Wales have confirmed an interest in hosting Rugby World Cup 2015, while Australia, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Russia, Scotland, South Africa and Wales submitted expressions of interest in tendering for the 2019 tournament, Lapasset said.

The 10 unions have until May 8, 2009 to submit detailed tender documents to Rugby World Cup Limited and will be invited to make presentations to the IRB council later that month.

The host unions for the 2015 and 2019 tournaments will be selected at a special meeting of the IRB council on July 28, 2009.

"The strong response also justifies the IRB's move to award two tournaments at the same time," Lapasset said.

"This provides longer term certainty for the hosts, Rugby World Cup Limited and the tournament's commercial partners. It also ensures that future development investment initiatives in the game worldwide can continue to be underwritten by the tournament and planned accordingly."

New Zealand will host the 2011 tournament.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news