Seven Cats make All-Australian team - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Seven Cats make All-Australian team

16/09/2008 12:35:06 PM Comments (0)

Geelong again dominated the AFL All-Australian team, but fell two short of last year's record contingent.

The Cats, who have lost only once this season and are strong premiership favourites, had seven selections in the team named on Monday night.

Geelong captain Tom Harley and fellow defender Corey Enright were among nine players who received their first All-Australian selections.

Fremantle skipper Matthew Pavlich is easily the most-picked player in the team, receiving the honour for the sixth time.

Among those who could consider themselves unlucky not to make the team are Brisbane key forward Jonathan Brown, Cats defender Andrew Mackie, team-mate Joel Selwood and Hawthorn captain Sam Mitchell.

Western Bulldogs midfielder Adam Cooney made the team for the first time, but did not attend the function because of illness.

He also has a sore knee, but the Bulldogs are confident Cooney, one of their most important players, will be fit for Friday night's preliminary final against the Cats.

Geelong had an astonishing nine players named in last year's team and this time they had 10 in the initial squad of 40.

Full-back Matthew Scarlett received his fourth selection, while midfielders Gary Ablett, Joel Corey and Jimmy Bartel and forward Steve Johnson also backed up from last season.

The Geelong players named last year who did not make the team were Cameron Mooney, Cameron Ling and Darren Milburn.

Harley was named vice-captain of the All-Australian team under Carlton star Chris Judd, who received his third selection and was made captain of the side for the first time.

The other first-time All-Australians are Adelaide key defender Nathan Bock, St Kilda defender Sam Fisher, Hawthorn full-forward and Coleman Medallist Lance Franklin, Collingwood small forward Paul Medhurst, Western Bulldogs backman Dale Morris and giant Fremantle ruckman Aaron Sandilands.

West Coast ruckman Dean Cox, North Melbourne forward Brent Harvey and Pavlich joined the five Geelong players in making the team for the second-successive year.

This weekend's four preliminary finalists - Geelong, the Bulldogs, Hawthorn and St Kilda - also took the double-chance positions at the top of the ladder at the end of the regular season.

Reflecting their strength this year, those four sides had 13 players in the All-Australian 22.

Arguably the most popular choice was Richmond utility Matthew Richardson, who has reinvented himself this season as a tall wingman.

One of the most liked players in the competition, Richardson was named for the third time - and his first since 1999.

Richardson will be the sentimental favourite for next Monday night's Brownlow Medal.

The other members of the All-Australian team are Carlton key forward Brendan Fevola, St Kilda captain Nick Riewoldt and Hawthorn half-back Luke Hodge.

Franklin was also presented with his Coleman Medal as the league's leading goalkicker.

Richmond onballer Brett Deledio, a member of the initial All-Australian squad but not the final side, won the Army Award.

The award recognises teamwork, initiative and courage and Deledio was nominated for a piece of play in round seven when he tried to mark while running with the flight of the ball.

After having no All-Australian selections in 2005 and '06, Geelong now have the top two representations for a single season with their domination last year and now this year.

Brett Rosebery was named the All-Australian umpire.

Judd and Harley said they felt humble being made the official leaders of the team.

"To be named as a leader is a great honour, very humbling," Judd said.

"I don't know that we would need to have too many leadership meetings (for this group of players)."

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news