Award nominees announced - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Award nominees announced

18/09/2008 10:05:24 PM Comments (0)

Rocky Elsom, Matt Giteau, Stirling Mortlock, Wycliff Palu and George Smith have been named as the five contenders for Australian rugby's player of the year - the John Eales Medal.

The award is presented to the Wallabies player who polls the most number of votes from teammates, cast on a 3-2-1 basis after each Test.

This year's John Eales Medal takes in the Wallabies five matches at the 2007 Rugby World Cup and the nine Tests played so far this season under new coach Robbie Deans.

A new award has also been instituted, the Australia's Choice 2008 Wallaby of the Year award which will be determined by votes cast online at, or

The winners for both awards will be announced at the John Eales Medal night in Sydney on October 23.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2023 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news