Franklin named Hawk's best and fairest - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Franklin named Hawk's best and fairest

04/10/2008 10:51:54 PM Comments (0)

Hawks centurion Lance Franklin has capped an outstanding AFL season by taking out Hawthorn's best and fairest award.

Franklin won the Peter Crimmins Medal with 216 votes from captain Sam Mitchell on 177 and Luke Hodge 175.

The 21-year-old polled in 24 of his 25 games with his best performances coming in Round 5 against the Brisbane Lions at the Gabba, Round 11 against Essendon, Round 18 against Collingwood at the MCG and the second qualifying final against the Western Bulldogs.

In other club awards, Hodge was judged best player in the finals, electric forward Cyril Rioli was named best first year player and defender Tom Murphy secured the most improved award.

Jarryd Roughead picked up most consistent and Chance Bateman capped off his best season yet to win the best clubman award.

Franklin was also presented with a commemorative piece to recognise winning the Coleman Medal in the grand final.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news