Hindmarsh wins Eels award - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Hindmarsh wins Eels award

10/10/2008 11:24:19 PM Comments (0)

Parramatta workhorse Nathan Hindmarsh has claimed the NRL club's players' player award for the seventh time in nine seasons.

Hindmarsh will receive the Ken Thornett Medal on his return from charity work he is undertaking in the African nation of Rwanda.

Eels coach Michael Hagan received the award on behalf of the second-rower at a function at Rosehill Gardens.

"To be voted by the people you play with, it is a massive honour," Hindmarsh said before his departure.

"It wasn't our year, but I was still out there doing my best like everyone else was.

"But there were plenty of others who put up their hand also, the likes of Nathan Cayless, Brett Finch, Chad Robinson and a lot more."

Hindmarsh claimed the Thornett Medal from 2000-02, in 2004 and has made it three in a row again between 2006-08.

He also took out the supporters' player of the year award, while Taulima Tautai was named rookie of the year and youngster Matthew Keating received the coaches' award.

Former Penrith premiership winner Joe Galuvao won the players' player award for Eels NSW Cup feeder side Wentworthville.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news