Ten AFL greats set to be honoured - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Ten AFL greats set to be honoured

29/01/2009 06:42:01 PM Comments (0)

Four current players are among a handful of AFL greats set to be honoured as life members of the competition.

Richmond star Matthew Richardson, new North Melbourne skipper Brent Harvey, Adelaide midfielder Tyson Edwards and Sydney forward Michael O'Loughlin all qualified for the honour last year by reaching 300 games of service.

Melbourne's Adem Yze, who also reached that milestone, will also be awarded life membership at the AFL's annual general meeting in March despite not playing on in 2009.

The league will also honour St Kilda great Darrel Baldock, former Hawthorn president Ian Dicker and former AFL Commissioner Colin Carter for their service to the game.

Umpires Shane McInerney and Stephen McBurney have also qualified for life membership.

AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou congratulated the group on their achievements.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2023 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news