Storm's Smith Kiwi player of the year - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Storm's Smith Kiwi player of the year

01/02/2009 04:28:48 PM Comments (0)

Melbourne Storm loose forward Jeremy Smith has been named the 2008 New Zealand Rugby League (NZRL) Player of the Year at the annual awards function in Auckland on Sunday.

Smith, 28, headed off five teammates from the world champion Kiwis side who were also nominated as finalists - Warriors second rower Simon Mannering, Warriors halfback Nathan Fien, Warriors fullback Lance Hohaia, Warriors winger Manu Vatuvei, and Parramatta prop Nathan Cayless, the victorious Kiwis captain.

South Sydney hooker Isaac Luke won the Rookie of the Year title, Vatuvei the Personality of the Year, and Kiwis mentor Steve Kearney the Coach of the Year.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news