Waratahs drop Burgess to bench - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Waratahs drop Burgess to bench

15/04/2009 05:46:25 PM Comments (0)

Regular Wallabies halfback Luke Burgess has been dropped to the NSW Waratahs bench for the Super 14 clash with the Western Force on Saturday.

Coach Chris Hickey promoted feisty fellow Wallaby Brett Sheehan on Wednesday to start the match in place of Burgess in the only unforced change to his starting team beaten by the Bulls last Saturday.

The other change sees Timana Tahu promoted from the bench to outside centre in place of the injured Rob Horne for the Sydney Football Stadium match.

"Sheeno (Sheen) has been doing a really good job for us with relatively little game this season, so we thought we'd give him the chance to rip in from the start this week," said Hickey.

"It's great to have two Wallaby No.9s at your disposal."

Hard-working lock Will Caldwell will become NSW's most capped lock as he plays his 64th match for the Waratahs, surpassing former Test players Tom Bowman and John Welborn (63).

Caldwell made his state debut against Scotland in 2004, and played his first Super 14 match two years later against the Queensland Reds.

Since then he has missed just three Super Rugby matches and will earn his 49th Super Rugby cap against the Force.

"Will's progression is a testament to hard work, commitment and a thirst to improve his game over a long period of time," said Hickey.

"With Dan Vickerman moving on, Will was given a real opportunity to become a leader in the pack this year and he's certainly done that."

Sydney University's Peter Playford moves onto the bench for the first time this season, having earned the last of his four NSW caps in 2005.

NSW Waratahs: Sam Norton-Knight, Lachie Turner, Timana Tahu, Tom Carter, Lote Tuqiri, Daniel Halangahu, Brett Sheehan, Wycliff Palu, Phil Waugh (capt), Ben Mowen, Will Caldwell, Dean Mumm, Dan Palmer, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Benn Robinson. Res: Damien Fitzpatrick, Sekope Kepu, Chris Thomson, Luke Doherty, Luke Burgess, Kurtley Beale, Peter Playford.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2023 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news