Four nations bid for Rugby World Cup - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Four nations bid for Rugby World Cup

09/05/2009 06:16:11 AM Comments (0)

England, Italy, Japan and South Africa have submitted bids to stage the 2015 Rugby World Cup, with all but England going for the 2019 event as an alternative.

Australia declined to bid, deciding the International Rugby Board was asking too much money.

Four candidates is a record for the tournament, which was first played in New Zealand in 1987 and returns in 2011.

"We are delighted to have countries of the calibre of England, Italy, Japan and South Africa bidding for the right to host a Rugby World Cup," IRB chairman Bernard Lapasset said.

"The unprecedented response reflects the growing global prestige of a tournament that is established as the world's third-largest sporting event."

The four candidates will now outline their bids in presentations to the IRB Council in Dublin on May 13.

That will lead to detailed analysis of the tenders, including independent financial and commercial evaluation, before the IRB announces the hosts for the 2015 and 2019 events on July 28.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2021 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news