Smith wins Australian Super 14 - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Smith wins Australian Super 14

21/05/2009 10:08:38 PM Comments (0)

Wallabies and Brumbies flanker George Smith has won a fourth successive award for Australian Player of the Year in the Super 14.

Smith last year matched the three-peat record of former Queensland Reds fullback Chris Latham and has now created a further milestone by carrying off the prize for a fourth consecutive year.

It did however take a late surge for Smith to secure the 2009 award.

Journalists from around the country decided weekly on the top three Australian players from each Super 14 match involving the Waratahs, Reds, Western Force and Brumbies.

Their votes led to a 3-2-1 points allocation for each game.

Smith claimed full points for the Brumbies' final three matches of the 2009 season, enabling him to overhaul the previous frontrunner, Waratahs and Wallabies prop Benn Robinson.

Smith edged him out in the final round to finish with 18 points.

Robinson was second on 16 points, followed in equal third position on 14 points by the Western Forces teenage utility back James O'Connor and Queensland Reds centre/winger Digby Ioane.

The 2009 Rookie of the Year award went to Queensland Reds prop Laurie Weeks.

Coach of the Series was awarded to Chris Hickey from the Waratahs, the side finishing fifth in the competition and highest of the four Australian teams.

Stuart Dickinson won the referee's award while Try of the Series went to Queensland Reds utility back Quade Cooper for his effort against the Highlanders in Week 9.

Super 14 Awards

Player of the Series: George Smith

Rookie of the Series: Laurie Weeks

Coach of the Series: Chris Hickey

Referee of the Series: Stuart Dickinson

Try of the Series: Quade Cooper

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news