England drop Cipriani, recall Wilkinson - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

England drop Cipriani, recall Wilkinson

07/07/2009 09:45:27 PM Comments (0)

England on Tuesday left out Danny Cipriani and recalled Jonny Wilkinson in their 32-strong Senior Elite Player squad unveiled by manager Martin Johnson and rugby director Rob Andrew.

Johnson said the decision in getting the squad down to size had been difficult "because there is a greater strength in depth of players to choose from now than we had 12 months ago".

He added: "We feel we have made considerable progress as a squad during the course of last season and we are looking forward to building on this during the August training camp and into the Investec Challenge internationals in November against Australia, Argentina and New Zealand."

World Cup hero Wilkinson, who has just joined French side Toulon from Newcastle, is back to full fitness and gets the nod over Cipriani, who started last season as first choice five-eighth but then finished it as a substitute for the England Saxons squad at the Churchill Cup.

The 21-year-old Wasps back remains with the Saxons squad.

Johnson told Rugby Football Union's official website: "Our selections include players based in France and Rob Andrew and I have had extensive discussions with the French clubs, who have recruited English players and these have gone well.

"We are looking forward to continuing the positive working relationship with them, which worked so well last season.

"We will continue to monitor the form and fitness of the following players who were involved with England last season with a view to inviting them to training sessions as appropriate; Andy Goode, James Haskell, Tom May, Jamie Noon, Tom Palmer and Steve Thompson."

Both the Elite and Saxons squads will meet on August 9 to begin a six-day pre-season training camp.

Elite squad: Forwards (18)

Steffon Armitage (London Irish), Steve Borthwick (Saracens), George Chuter

(Leicester Tigers), Jordan Crane (Leicester Tigers), Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers), Louis Deacon (Leicester Tigers), Nick Easter (Harlequins), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Ben Kay (Leicester Tigers), Lee Mears (Bath Rugby), Tim Payne (London Wasps), Tom Rees (London Wasps), Simon Shaw (London Wasps), Andrew Sheridan (Sale Sharks), Phil Vickery (London Wasps), Julian White (Leicester Tigers), David Wilson (Bath Rugby), Joe Worsley (London Wasps)

Backs (14)

Delon Armitage (London Irish), Matt Banahan (Bath Rugby), Danny Care (Harlequins), Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks), Harry Ellis (Leicester Tigers), Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers), Riki Flutey (CA Brive/FRA), Dan Hipkiss (Leicester Tigers), Paul Hodgson (London Irish), Ugo Monye (Harlequins), Olly Morgan (Gloucester Rugby), Mathew Tait (Sale Sharks), Mike Tindall (Gloucester Rugby), Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon/FRA)

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2023 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news