All-Australian preliminary squad named - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

All-Australian preliminary squad named

01/09/2009 06:40:31 PM Comments (0)

St Kilda, Geelong and Collingwood have dominated All-Australian nominations, with more than half of the 40-man preliminary squad coming from those three AFL clubs.

The squad, which will be trimmed to a final 22 on September 14, includes seven players from top-placed St Kilda, eight from second-placed Geelong and six from the fourth-placed Magpies.

Most of those players have never previously made an All-Australian team.

Saints Brendon Goddard, Leigh Montagna, Sam Gilbert and Stephen Milne, Collingwood's Simon Prestigiacomo, Nick Maxwell, Scott Pendlebury, Leon Davis and Dane Swan and Geelong's Joel Selwood, Paul Chapman and Andrew Mackie are all in contention for first-time selection.

No other club, including the third-placed Western Bulldogs, has more than three nominees.

All but seven squad members came from the eight finalists.

The only exceptions were Sydney defender Craig Bolton and dual Brownlow medallist Adam Goodes, Hawthorn star forward Lance Franklin and midfielder Brad Sewell, ruckmen Aaron Sandilands (Fremantle) and Hamish McIntosh (North Melbourne) and West Coast small forward Mark LeCras.

Three clubs - Melbourne, Richmond and Port Adelaide - did not have a single player deemed worthy of inclusion in the squad.

The squad includes 12 forwards, 12 defenders and 16 midfielders/ruckmen.

Selectors will pick six players from each of those categories as the starting 18 and four of the remaining players to go on the interchange bench based on team balance.


Defenders: Corey Enright, Andrew Mackie, Matthew Scarlett (Geelong), Sam Gilbert, Brendon Goddard (St Kilda), Ryan Hargrave, Brian Lake (Western Bulldogs), Nick Maxwell, Simon Prestigiacomo (Collingwood), Craig Bolton (Sydney), Dustin Fletcher (Essendon), Simon Goodwin (Adelaide).

Midfielders/ruckmen: Gary Ablett, Jimmy Bartel, Joel Selwood (Geelong), Nick Dal Santo, Lenny Hayes, Leigh Montagna (St Kilda), Alan Didak, Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood), Chris Judd, Marc Murphy (Carlton), Matthew Boyd (Western Bulldogs), Bernie Vince (Adelaide), Mitch Clark (Brisbane), Hamish McIntosh (North Melbourne), Aaron Sandilands (Fremantle), Brad Sewell (Hawthorn).

Forwards: Paul Chapman, Steve Johnson (Geelong), Nick Riewoldt, Stephen Milne (St Kilda), Leon Davis, Dane Swan (Collingwood), Jonathan Brown (Brisbane), Jason Porplyzia (Adelaide), Brendon Fevola (Carlton), Adam Goodes (Sydney), Lance Franklin (Hawthorn), Mark LeCras (West Coast).

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news