O'Keefe wins Swans' club champion award - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

O'Keefe wins Swans' club champion award

By Adrian Warren 11/09/2009 11:30:25 PM Comments (0)

The decision to stick with Sydney and a successful move into the midfield have helped Ryan O'Keefe win his first Sydney AFL Club Champion award.

O'Keefe, who wanted to be traded at the end of last season, ultimately stuck with Sydney after no deal could be reached with another club.

The decision paid off handsomely on Friday night as he took out the Bob Skilton Medal at Darling Harbour Convention Centre.

Switched from his long-established half forward role to the midfield after the first few rounds this year, O'Keefe polled 528 points to be a clear winner.

He finished 75 points clear of Rhyce Shaw (453), who enjoyed a successful first season with Sydney and gave them run out of defence after moving from Collingwood.

The top six was rounded out by co-captain and veteran midfielder Brett Kirk (421), ruckman Darren Jolly (415), midfielder Adam Goodes (394) and last year's champion Jarrad McVeigh (366).

O'Keefe's consistency earned him votes in 19 out of Sydney's 22 games.

It was his first club champion award, eclipsing his previous best of equal second in the 2006 campaign.

He signed a four-year contract heading into this season, which could mean the 28-year-old finishes his AFL career with the Swans.

Goodes won the Paul Kelly Players' Player award, defender Nick Smith and forward Jesse White shared the Rising Star award, defender Heath Grundy was named Most Improved Player and retiring forward Michael O'Loughlin won Best Clubman.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news