Brown the Lions king - again - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Brown the Lions king - again

02/10/2009 10:01:15 PM Comments (0)

For the third straight year skipper Jonathan Brown has been named the Brisbane Lions' best and fairest player to win the AFL club's Merrett-Murray Medal.

In a count that wasn't decided until the final round, the 2009 All Australian polled 57.5 votes - just one ahead of vice-captain Simon Black.

Third-choice ruckman Mitch Clark capped his breakthrough year after stepping up following early season-ending injuries to Jamie Charman and Matthew Leuenberger by placing third on 54 votes.

Brown, 27, becomes only the second player in the merger club's history to win three straight club champion awards.

The other was medal co-namesake and nine-time Fitzroy best and fairest winner Kevin Murray.

It capped yet another impressive year for Brown who also walked away with the AFLPA's Best Captain Award this year and finished a career-best equal fourth alongside Black in the 2009 Brownlow Medal.

He kicked a Brisbane Lions club record 85 goals this season to finish second in the Coleman Medal behind Carlton's Brendan Fevola.

Vice-captain Luke Power finished fourth overall in the club count with 51.5 votes - his seventh consecutive top five finish - while 2006 club champion runner-up Justin Sherman rounded out the top five with 45.

Teenager Daniel Rich capped a stellar debut season by finishing sixth overall in the club champion voting with 41.5.

It was the highest placing of any first-year player at the club since the merged Brisbane Lions formed in 1997.

Unsurprisingly Rich was also named club Rookie of the Year.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news