Riewoldt claims another honour - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Riewoldt claims another honour

03/10/2009 11:03:12 PM Comments (0)

St Kilda captain Nick Riewoldt has won a record fifth Trevor Barker Award for the AFL club's best and fairest player.

Riewoldt's gong takes him past club greats Robert Harvey and Bill Cubbins, who both won it four times.

It caps a remarkable 2009 season for Riewoldt, who was named an All-Australian for the fourth time and first as captain and led the minor premiers into the grand final, where they narrowly lost to Geelong.

He has previously won the Trevor Barker Award in 2002, 2004, 2006 and 2007 since making his debut in 2001.

He played 24 games this season, kicking 78 goals and taking 231 marks to finish ahead of Brendon Goddard, Leigh Montagna, Nick Dal Santo and Lenny Hayes in the voting.

All five players were named All-Australians in 2009.

In other awards, defender Zac Dawson was named the Most Promising New Player Award and midfielder Clint Jones was given the Robert Harvey Most Professional Player Award.

St Kilda retirees Max Hudghton and Jarryd Allen were also recognised for their services to the Club.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news