Hayne named player of the year - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Hayne named player of the year

By Steve Jancetic 10/11/2009 12:05:27 PM Comments (0)

Jarryd Hayne's stunning 2009 season has earned him yet another major award, with the Parramatta superstar named the international player of the year at a gala dinner in Leeds on Monday night.

Hayne was awarded the game's highest individual honour following a string of stunning displays for the Eels, NSW and Fiji at last year's World Cup, the latest prize sure to give his contract negotiations with Parramatta a significant boost.

The 21-year-old - who will continue talks with the Eels about staying at the NRL club beyond 2010 as soon as he returns home from Australia's Four Nations campaign - beat out Kangaroos teammates Greg Inglis and last year's winner Billy Slater to the gong.

The medal, presented to him by former Great Britain skipper Ellery Hanley, is the second major individual honour Hayne's amazing run has netted him this year, with the Eels fullback receiving the Dally M medal for the NRL's best player back in September.

With the judging period starting at last year's World Cup for the Rugby League International Federation award, Hayne gave an early glimpse of what was to come as he steered Fiji to an improbable semi-final meeting with Australia.

The NRL season started slowly as he struggled to come to grips with his move to five-eighth, but his switch to fullback and a brilliant State of Origin series playing on the wing for NSW catapulted him to the award.

Inglis didn't go home empty-handed from the awards ceremony - held in the same city where Australia will meet England in Saturday's Four Nations final - with the Melbourne star named international centre of the year.

Inglis and Hayne (fullback) were joined in the team of the year by just one other Australian, with Cameron Smith named hooker of the year.

New Zealand had two representatives with Benji Marshall (five-eighth) and Fuifui Moimoi (prop) also making the cut, while surprise Four Nations finalists England had three starters with Wests Tigers forward Gareth Ellis (second row) and Kevin Sinfield (lock) joined by international rookie of the year winner Ryan Hall (wing).

NRL premiership-winner Craig Bellamy beat out Melbourne assistant and New Zealand World Cup winning mentor Stephen Kearney for the coach of the year accolade, while Australian Shayne Hayne edged the man he is battling for right to officiate in Saturday's Four Nations final - Englishman Steve Ganson - for the referee of the year.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news