Healy to make debut against Wallabies - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Healy to make debut against Wallabies

12/11/2009 09:44:02 AM Comments (0)

Leinster prop Cian Healy is set to make his Ireland debut after being named Wednesday in the Six Nations' champions side to play Australia at Croke Park in Dublin on Sunday.

Healy, 22, has been given his chance at loosehead prop with Marcus Horan set to be sidelined until the New Year through injury.

But Healy will have Jerry Flannery alongside him in the front row after the Munster hooker overcame a calf problem.

Ireland's front-row is completed by experienced tighthead John Hayes, selected by coach Declan Kidney despite not having played for five weeks following a suspension for stamping.

Ulster's Paddy Wallace has been chosen ahead of Gordon D'Arcy at inside centre while there are two uncapped players on the bench in Connacht hooker Sean Cronin and Leinster outside-half Jonathan Sexton.

There are only two changes to the side that clinched the Six Nations grand slam with a 17-15 win over Wales in March with Healy replacing Horan and Wallace replacing D'Arcy.

Ireland captain Brian O'Driscoll is set to make his 100th Test appearance this weekend, having won 93 caps for his country and six for the British and Irish Lions.

Although Ireland have won just eight of their 27 Tests against Australia, the Wallabies have lost twice on their past three visits to Dublin.

Australia, who began their quest to match the 1984 Wallabies by completing a grand slam of wins over the Home Unions with an 18-9 victory against England at Twickenham last weekend, are due to name their side later Wednesday.

The Wallabies are set to be captained by Rocky Elsom, a Leinster team-mate of O'Driscoll's when the Irish province won the European Cup last season.

Ireland team to play Australia in a one-off international at Croke Park in Dublin on Sunday (1500GMT): Rob Kearney; Tommy Bowe, Brian O'Driscoll (capt), Paddy Wallace, Luke Fitzgerald; Ronan O'Gara, Tomas O'Leary, Jamie Heaslip, David Wallace, Stephen Ferris; Paul O'Connell, Donncha O'Callaghan; John Hayes, Jerry Flannery, Cian Healy

Replacements: Sean Cronin, Tom Court, Leo Cullen, Denis Leamy, Eoin Reddan, Jonathan Sexton, Keith Earls

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news