Stormers unchanged for Super final - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Stormers unchanged for Super final

27/05/2010 07:21:58 AM Comments (0)

The Stormers will be unchanged team for the all-South African Super 14 final against the defending champion Bulls in Soweto on Saturday.

Stormers coach Allister Coetzee kept faith on Wednesday with the players who earned the Cape Town team its first final appearance with a 25-6 semifinal win over the Waratahs last weekend.

Former Bulls winger Bryan Habana is the only Stormers player with Super 14 final experience.

Habana won with the Bulls in 2007 and 2009, scoring the winning try in 2007 against the Sharks in the only other all-South African final.

"He's been giving a lot of insight," Coetzee said of ex-Bull Habana. "But at the end of the day you have to go out there and play. We know what's coming our way and we're going to prepare well."

The match features a string of South Africa's biggest rugby stars up against each other at the unlikely venue.

Soweto's Orlando Stadium - where the Bulls have moved because their stadium has been set aside for the World Cup - is typically a football venue.

Stormers: Joe Pietersen, Gio Aplon, Jaque Fourie, Juan de Jongh, Bryan Habana, Peter Grant, Dewaldt Duvenage; Wicus Blaauw, Tiaan Liebenberg, Brok Harris, Adriaan Fondse, Andries Bekker, Schalk Burger (captain), Francois Louw, Duane Vermeulen. Replacements: Deon Fourie, JC Kritzinger, Anton Van Zyl, Pieter Louw, Ricky Januarie, Willem De Waal, Tim Whitehead.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news