Hayne wins Eels' player of year award - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Hayne wins Eels' player of year award

02/09/2010 02:56:41 PM Comments (0)

Jarryd Hayne picked up yet another gong on Wednesday night, when the star fullback claimed back-to-back Ken Thornett medals as Parramatta's player of the year.

The 2009 Dally M medal winner claimed the award on a night where retiring skipper Nathan Cayless was honoured for his years of service to the club.

Hayne admitted he had struggled at times this year, but said the award was a pleasant way to finish a tough season which saw the Eels miss the finals after a grand final appearance last year.

"It hasn't been the best year but I'm always proud to receive an honour like this from a club legend like Ken Thornett," he said.

"All the boys have put in a huge effort this year and we're really looking forward to what we can achieve in 2011."

Boom forward Justin Horo was named rookie of the year, while emerging prop Tim Mannah was handed the Jack Gibson coaches award.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2020 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news