Malthouse wins AFL coaches' award - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Malthouse wins AFL coaches' award

21/09/2010 10:22:41 PM Comments (0)

Collingwood's Mick Malthouse has won the AFL Coaches' Association's senior coach of the year award, completing the double with Dane Swan who won the most valuable player award.

Magpies midfielder Swan, who had the disappointment of finishing third in Monday night's Brownlow Medal after starting as a short-priced favourite, won the coaches' award for best player after Geelong's Gary Ablett claimed the past three titles.

Swan finished in front of Hawthorn's Luke Hodge with Geelong's Joel Selwood third.

It was another award for Swan after winning several media trophies and the AFL Players' Association MVP.

Each senior coach voted on a 5,4,3,2,1 basis after each home-and-away game this season.

"I didn't go so well last night but the AFL Coaches' Association seem to know what they're talking about," Swan joked as he received his award at Crown Casino on Tuesday night before 500 guests.

Swan said he was normally a relaxed type of guy and didn't have any great emotions bubbling over so far ahead of Saturday's grand final against St Kilda at the MCG.

Malthouse and Swan said they were humbled and honoured to be recognised by the coaches' association.

"I'm so rapt. It's one of the greatest awards I've had in my 39 years in football," said Malthouse, the two-time West Coast premiership coach and Richmond premiership player.

In another highlight of the night, Ron Barassi was announced as the AFLCA's second "coaching legend". John Kennedy Senior won the inaugural "legend" award last year.

Four-time premiership coach Barassi received his award from former St Kilda coach Stan Alves, who was a premiership player in Barassi's 1977 North Melbourne side.

A video montage paid tribute to Barassi's time at Melbourne, Carlton, North and Sydney.

Barassi, 74, recalled the cartwheels Alves performed after North won the 1977 grand final replay as an example of what premierships mean to players.

"It is a thrill. That's why we play, of course," said Barassi, a six-time premiership player with the Demons.

Barassi said Melbourne coaching great Norm Smith was his biggest influence.

Fremantle's Stephen Hill won the award for best young player in his first two years in the AFL.

The lifetime achievement award was won by long-serving Adelaide team manager Barrie Downs while the award for assistant coach of the year went to Cats assistant Brendan McCartney.

Richmond bootman Ilmar "Drac" Tiltins received a support staff leadership award.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2023 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news