Maroons dominate Kangaroos side - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Maroons dominate Kangaroos side

09/11/2010 03:29:07 PM Comments (0)

Queenslanders dominate the Australian side for Saturday's Four Nations rugby league final against New Zealand with 10 Maroons named in the Tim Sheens' starting side.

Winger Brett Morris and backrowers Paul Gallen and Luke Lewis are the only NSW players in the Kangaroos run-on side, with even the seven-man interchange bench sporting a Maroon tinge with another three representatives.

Matt Scott's retention in the front row alongside David Shillington signals a changing of the guard, with veteran prop Petero Civoniceva to start the game from the bench.

Skipper Darren Lockyer, Willie Tonga, Billy Slater and Lewis return after missing last weekend's win over the Kiwis, with two of the men they come in for - Darius Boyd and Greg Bird - named on the bench.

The pair were joined by Kurt Gidley, Nate Myles and Anthony Watmough - who were also absent last week - amongst the list of reserves to be trimmed by Sheens on Thursday.

The four squad members not named were Robbie Farah, Dean Young, Todd Carney and Wests Tigers centre Chris Lawrence.

Team: Billy Slater, Brett Morris, Brent Tate, Willie Tonga, Lote Tuqiri, Darren Lockyer (capt), Cooper Cronk, Matthew Scott, Cameron Smith, David Shillington, Luke Lewis, Sam Thaiday, Paul Gallen. Interchange: Tom Learoyd-Lahrs, Petero Civoniceva, Greg Bird, Kurt Gidley, Nate Myles, Anthony Watmough, Darius Boyd (three to be omitted).

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news