AFL announces new north-eastern comp - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

AFL announces new north-eastern comp

11/11/2010 02:32:47 PM Comments (0)

The feeder teams of incoming AFL clubs Gold Coast and Greater Western Sydney will play in a new league which brings together clubs from NSW, Queensland, the ACT and the Northern Territory.

The North East Australian Football League (NEAFL) will begin next year, building on the current top-level competitions in Queensland and Canberra.

The Suns - who played in the VFL in 2010 - will be in the 10-team northern conference, which also includes the Brisbane Lions reserves and the NT Thunder.

GWS will join the Sydney Swans in the seven-team eastern conference.

AFL general manager of national and international development David Matthews said the creation of the NEAFL followed a two-year review of second-tier competitions across Australia.

Teams will mostly play other sides in their own conference, although there will also be cross-conference matches.

The feeder teams of the four AFL clubs will play each other seven times during the season.

"Our teams will be exposed to a wider audience and the local fans will get a good chance to see developing players and some good quality football in the community, said Gold Coast football manager Marcus Ashcroft.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news