Dane Swan wins Collingwood award - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Dane Swan wins Collingwood award

08/12/2010 11:59:58 PM Comments (0)

Dane Swan has become just the fourth footballer at Collingwood to win three-consecutive Copeland Trophy awards as the club's best and fairest player.

The premiership midfielder polled 67 votes to beat fellow 2010 All Australian Scott Pendlebury (60 votes), with Dale Thomas placing third with 54 votes.

Swan, 26, joins club legends Phonse Kyne (1946-48), Bob Rose (1951-53) and Nathan Buckley (1998-2000) as the only Magpies to have won the best-and-fairest for three-straight years.

Swan, who played all 26 matches in 2010 for a career total of 151, was also named the Players' Association MVP, the Coaches' Association MVP and won a number of media awards in 2010.

He elevated himself even further by jointly winning the Bob Rose Trophy as the Magpies' best player in the triumphant finals campaign, equal with Thomas and skipper Nick Maxwell.

Swan's 67 votes were 10 more than what he polled when he won in 2009, and 14 more than his 2008 triumph.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news