Roosters to host Souths in NRL opener - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Roosters to host Souths in NRL opener

16/12/2010 07:11:43 PM Comments (0)

Bitter rivals South Sydney and Sydney Roosters will kick off the 2011 NRL season at the Sydney Football Stadium on March 11.

The Rabbitohs will be hoping that Queensland superstar Greg Inglis's contract issues will be resolved shortly so he can prepare to face last season's grand finalists in round one.

Also on that Friday night, Brisbane will welcome a new-look North Queensland outfit at Suncorp Stadium.

Parramatta coach Stephen Kearney will travel to his native New Zealand for the Eels' clash with the Warriors at Eden Park, the traditional home of rugby union in Auckland, on March 12.

That day will also see premiers St George Illawarra open their title defence with a tricky trip to the Gold Coast, while Melbourne face Manly in a repeat of the 2007 and 2008 grand finals at AAMI Park.

The Raiders host Cronulla in Canberra on the Sunday, while Penrith tackle Newcastle at CUA Stadium.

The opening Monday night fixture will see Canterbury host Wests Tigers at ANZ Stadium.

NRL schedule for the first five rounds:


Friday, March 11

Sydney Roosters v Souths at SFS

Brisbane v North Queensland at Suncorp Stadium

Saturday, March 12

Warriors v Parramatta at Eden Park, Auckland

Melbourne v Manly at AAMI Park

Gold Coast v St George-Illawarra at Skilled Park

Sunday, March 13

Canberra v Cronulla at Canberra Stadium

Penrith v Newcastle at Penrith Stadium

Monday, March 14

Canterbury v Wests Tigers at ANZ Stadium


Friday, March 18

Parramatta v Penrith at Parramatta Stadium

Canberra v Brisbane at Canberra Stadium

Saturday, March 19

Melbourne v Gold Coast at AAMI Park

Wests Tigers v Warriors at Leichhardt Oval

North Queensland v Newcastle at Dairy Farmers Stadium

Sunday, March 20

Souths v Canterbury at ANZ Stadium

Sydney Roosters v Manly at SFS

Monday, March 21

Cronulla v St George-Illawarra at Toyota Stadium


Friday, March 25

Parramatta v Souths at ANZ Stadium

Gold Coast v Brisbane at Skilled Park

Saturday, March 26

Penrith v Cronulla at Penrith Stadium

North Queensland v Melbourne - Venue TBC

Sunday, March 27

Warriors v St George-Illawarra at Mt Smart Stadium

Canterbury v Sydney Roosters at ANZ Stadium

Manly v Newcastle at Brookvale Oval

Monday, March 28

Wests Tigers v Canberra at Campbelltown


Friday, April 1

Souths v Manly at Bluetongue Stadium

Brisbane v Penrith at Suncorp Stadium

Saturday, April 2

Canberra v Gold Coast at Canberra Stadium

Parramatta v North Queensland v Parramatta Stadium

Sunday, April 3

Cronulla v Warriors at Taupo, NZ

Newcastle v St George-Illawarra at Energy Australia Stadium

Sydney Roosters v Wests Tigers at SFS

Monday, April 4

Melbourne v Canterbury at AAMI Park


Friday, April 8

North Queensland v Gold Coast at Dairy Farmers Stadium

Wests Tigers v Souths at SFS

Saturday, April 9

Warriors v Sydney Roosters at Mt Smart Stadium

Cronulla v Manly at Toyota Stadium

Penrith v Canberra at Penrith Stadium

Sunday, April 10

Melbourne v Parramatta at AAMI Park

St George-Illawarra v Bulldogs at WIN Jubilee Stadium

Monday, April 11

Brisbane v Newcastle at Suncorp Stadium

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news