Bosnich to join charity league match - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Bosnich to join charity league match

03/03/2011 05:54:49 PM Comments (0)

Former Australian soccer international Mark Bosnich will be among sporting stars turning out for a charity rugby league match in Auckland next week to raise funds for earthquake-hit Christchurch.

Bosnich, who played in goal for English Premier League clubs Manchester United, Aston Villa and Chelsea, has been confirmed for the Legends of League match at Mt Smart Stadium next Thursday night.

He will be part of an Australian squad also including former rugby league players Hazem el Masri, Ben Elias, Paul Sironen, John Hopoate and ex-New Zealand Warrior David Myles.

The New Zealand squad contains the likes of Ruben Wiki, Stacey Jones, Gary Freeman, Kurt Sorensen, Hugh McGahan, Richie Barnett, Logan Swann, Joe Vagana and Tawera Nikau.

One of the match organisers, Nikau will play despite having an artificial leg as a result of a motorcycle accident.

Fans can also bid for a place in one of the teams, with all proceeds going to the Christchurch Earthquake Appeal, a global fundraiser launched by Prime Minister John Key for the recovery effort in the city and Canterbury region.

Meanwhile, North Harbour Stadium said $93,000 from the Warriors' pre-season match against Manly last weekend would be donated to the Red Cross' earthquake appeal.

Stadium management had said before the match that all profits from the event would go to help the victims of the Christchurch disaster.

The total did not include money from the Red Cross collection on the day. That figure would be known later this week.

Legends of League players so far confirmed:

New Zealand: Stacey Jones, Monty Betham, Tawera Nikau, David Kidwell, Gary Freeman, Kurt Sorensen, Joe Vagana, Tea Ropati, Logan Swann, Ruben Wiki, Richie Barnett, Paul Rauhihi, Hugh McGahan, Clayton Friend, Duane Mann, Jerry Seuseu, Mark Bourneville, Sean Hoppe, Francis Leota.

Australia: Tonie Carroll, Ben Elias, Billy Peden, John Hopoate, Mark Bosnich, David Peachey, Hazem el Masri, Bruce McGuire, David Myles, Paul Langmack, Paul Sironen, Scott Hill.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news