Magpies get Jolly for AFL pre-season semi - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Magpies get Jolly for AFL pre-season semi

By Roger Vaughan 03/03/2011 09:04:51 PM Comments (0)

Collingwood will regain No.1 ruckman Darren Jolly for Saturday night's AFL pre-season semi-final, pitting him against West Coast's Dean Cox.

It will be the two-time premiership player's first game this year and he was the one big name to return to their lineup for the match at Patersons Stadium.

Alan Didak, Tyson Goldsack and Brad Dick will wait at least another week before they start playing, while Collingwood also rested several frontline players for the match.

They left out Chris Tarrant, Luke Ball, Leigh Brown, Brent Macaffer and Heath Shaw for the trip, meaning the match will test their depth.

By contrast, the Eagles strengthened their side by including Beau Waters, Darren Glass and Andrew Embley.

Callum Wilson was left out, even though he escaped with a reprimand earlier this week after a match review panel striking charge.

There were suggestions earlier this week that Cox might sit out the semi-final, but he was named in their 29-man squad.

Star midfielder Daniel Kerr is the one big name missing from their side.

Melbourne included young midfielder Tom Scully for his first game of the year for Saturday's NAB Challenge match against Brisbane at Visy Park.

Scully has been the subject of intense media attention over the last few weeks, amid speculation linking him to expansion team Greater Western Sydney.

Brisbane also regained key players Simon Black and Luke Power for the match.

Adelaide lost Jason Porplyzia with a foot injury for Sunday's Visy Park game against Carlton, while utility and potential back-up ruckman Brad Moran is among the Crows' inclusions.

Western Bulldogs captain Matthew Boyd and Fremantle counterpart Matthew Pavlich will sit out their teams' match on Saturday in the WA coastal town of Bunbury.

North Melbourne's inclusions for the Saturday night game against GWS in Lavington, near Albury, will feature captain Brent Harvey and Scott Thompson.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2020 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news