Port adds to leadership group - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Port adds to leadership group

16/03/2011 05:51:39 PM Comments (0)

Port Adelaide have finalised their leadership group for the coming AFL season, adding Steven Salopek and Jacob Surjan.

The group now includes captain Domenic Cassisi, vice-captain Dean Brogan, Travis Boak, Alipate Carlile, Troy Chaplin, Salopek, Jay Schulz, Surjan and Jackson Trengove.

With seven of the nine players aged under 25, Port chief executive Mark Haysman said there was an excellent base for the years ahead.

"The 2011 leadership group is a great mix of personalities that will complement each other well," Haysman said.

"It's a good blend of youth and experience and we're confident the younger members of the group can learn a lot from the more experienced leaders like Dom and Dean.

"The direction of this group is very much in line with the direction of the club, with a heavy focus around youth and accelerating their development wherever possible.

"We believe we've got some great emerging young leaders who will be important leaders for the club for many years to come."

Salopek and Surjan were added to the leadership group after a player vote earlier this month.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news