Polota-Nau and Robinson named for Tahs - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Polota-Nau and Robinson named for Tahs

Russell Jackson 15/06/2011 03:10:58 PM Comments (0)

The NSW Waratahs have named returning Wallaby second-rower Dan Vickerman on the bench for Saturday's must-win Super Rugby clash with the Brumbies in Sydney.

The injury-ravaged Waratahs must beat the Brumbies at ANZ Stadium to secure a playoff berth.

Vickerman, 32, who last played for NSW in 2008, had spent the intervening period studying in England and only returned to Australia last Saturday.

The South African-born Vickerman is part of a re-shuffled line-up for the Waratahs, who continue their long battle with injuries this year.

Backrower Dave Dennis will start at No.8 in place of the injured Wycliff Palu, who was ruled out for the season after breaking his shoulder in last Saturday's 33-7 victory over the Highlanders.

Dennis is looking forward to the contest.

"It doesn't get any bigger than this. Win, and we're in the finals it's as simple as that," he said.

"We showed last week that we're capable of playing an exciting brand of rugby at the business end of the year and we want to bring the same mindset on Saturday night.

"There's a few changes to the side but we've all got confidence in each other and the win over the Highlanders showed that we have the depth to perform well if we execute accurately."

The Waratahs have named key forwards Tatafu Polota-Nau and Benn Robinson in the starting line-up.

The pair are battling injuries but coach Chris Hickey is hopeful both hooker Polota-Nau (knee) and prop Robinson (ankle) will be right to play.

Ryan Cross will start at outside centre after missing the past two matches with a knee injury.

Last week's hat-trick hero Tom Carter moves back to his regular spot at inside centre after starring in the No.13 jersey.

Dean Mumm moves from the second-row to blindside flanker while backrower Pat O'Connor comes into the starting side.

Atieli Pakalani will start on the wing with Sosene Anesi moving to the bench.

NSW: Kurtley Beale, Lachie Turner, Ryan Cross, Tom Carter, Atieli Pakalani, Daniel Halangahu, Luke Burgess, Dave Dennis, Phil Waugh (capt), Dean Mumm, Sitaleki Timani, Pat O'Connor, Al Baxter, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Benn Robinson. Res: John Ulugia, Jeremy Tilse, Dan Vickerman, Chris Alcock, Hugh Perrett, Josh Holmes, Sosene Anesi.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2023 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news