Super Rugby final factbox - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Super Rugby final factbox

08/07/2011 10:28:37 AM Comments (0)

Factbox for the Super Rugby final between the Queensland Reds and Crusaders at Suncorp Stadium on Saturday night:-


Coach: Todd Blackadder

Captain: Richie McCaw

Champions: 1998, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2008

Runners-up: 2003, 2004

Semi-finalists: 2007, 2009, 2010


Regular season

New Zealand conference winners; qualified 3rd overall

Played 16 won 11 drew 1 lost 4; points for 436 (1st in comp) against 273 (3rd)

Finals series

Qualifier: bt Sharks 36-8 at Nelson

Semifinal: bt Stormers 29-10 at Cape Town

Leading points scorer: Daniel Carter 181

Leading try scorer: Sean Maitland 9


Coach: Ewen McKenzie

Captain: James Horwill

Semi-finalists: 1996, 1999, 2001


Regular season

Australian conference winners; qualified 1st

Played: 16 won 13 lost 3; points for 429 (2nd) against 309 (3rd)

Finals series

Semi-final: bt Blues 30-13 at Brisbane

Leading points scorer: Quade Cooper 220

Leading try scorer: Scott Higginbotham, Luke Morahan 6

Last meeting:-

Reds 17 bt Crusaders 16 at Suncorp Stadium, May 29

Super Rugby head-to-head record: Crusaders 12 wins, Reds 5 wins.

In Brisbane: Played 10 Reds 4 Crusaders 6

Betting: Reds $2.36 Crusaders $1.60 (Centrebet)

Referee: Bryce Lawrence (NZ)


Queensland: Jono Lance, Rod Davies, Anthony Faingaa, Ben Tapuai, Digby Ioane, Quade Cooper, Will Genia; Radike Samo, Beau Robinson, Scott Higginbotham, James Horwill (capt), Rob Simmons, Greg Holmes, Saia Faingaa, Ben Daley. Res: James Hanson, Guy Shepherdson, Adam Wallace-Harrison, Jake Schatz, Liam Gill, Ian Prior, Will Chambers.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2023 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news