Blues' Judd wins AFLPA MVP award - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Blues' Judd wins AFLPA MVP award

Sam Lienert 12/09/2011 11:44:18 PM Comments (0)

Brownlow Medal favourite Chris Judd has become the fifth multiple winner of the AFL players' association's most valuable player (MVP) award.

The Carlton skipper, who previously won the MVP with West Coast in 2006, adds the player-voted award to his two Brownlows also won at two clubs, with the Eagles in 2004 and the Blues last year.

Judd was an overwhelming winner, with his 1347 votes almost triple the tally of runner-up, Collingwood's Scott Pendlebury (456), with Gold Coast captain Gary Ablett (389) third.

Judd joined Ablett, Greg Williams, Wayne Carey and Michael Voss as players to have won the award more than once.

Judd was also voted the AFL's best captain for 2011, adding to a list of honours which include five club best and fairests, two with the Eagles and three with the Blues, as well as the 2005 Norm Smith Medal and captaining West Coast to the 2006 premiership.

He captained the Blues to their first finals win in a decade against Essendon on Sunday, with Carlton to play West Coast in a semi-final in Perth on Saturday night.

In other AFLPA awards presented on Monday night, Essendon's Dyson Heppell was named best first-year player, having last week received the AFL's Rising Star award.

Brisbane captain Jonathan Brown, who had facial surgery twice this year after two horrible collisions, was named the competition's most courageous player, an award he previously won in 2007 and 2008.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news