Franklin ill, misses AFL function - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Franklin ill, misses AFL function

Roger Vaughan 19/09/2011 09:51:26 PM Comments (0)

Lance Franklin's medical woes in this finals series continued on Monday night when the Hawthorn star missed the AFL All-Australian awards because of illness.

Four days after making a speedy recovery from a knee injury and kicking four goals in their semi-final win over Sydney, Franklin was laid low by a stomach bug.

He was supposed to be at the function in Melbourne on Monday night as this season's Coleman Medallist and the full-forward for the All-Australian team.

Hawks coach Alastair Clarkson is confident the illness will not stop Franklin from being ready for Friday night's preliminary final against Collingwood at the MCG.

"He's fallen in love with the doctors ... he's got the gastro today, hopefully he'll be right by the weekend - I'm sure he will be," Clarkson said.

Franklin suffered bone bruising when he landed awkwardly near the end of Hawthorn's qualifying final loss to Geelong two weekends ago.

He astounded pundits by recovering in time to play a significant role in last Saturday night's win over the Swans.

Also at Monday night's awards ceremony, Geelong star Matthew Scarlett said he would retire at the end of next season.

Scarlett, 32, and Carlton captain Chris Judd are the most-capped players in this year's honorary team with six All-Australian selections.

"I'm signed for next year, so at this stage I probably think that will be it," Scarlett said.

"You can always change your mind, I don't want to make a big deal out of it, at the moment that's just how I feel.

"Obviously we have a big (couple of) weeks coming up and that can also change what you want to do in the future."

Collingwood led this year's team, with all six of their nominations in the original squad of 40 making the final 22-man team.

Travis Cloke, Leon Davis, Ben Reid, Scott Pendlebury, Dane Swan and Dale Thomas were the Magpies named in the final team.

Gold Coast captain Gary Ablett was a popular choice as captain, while Judd was named vice-captain.

It was Ablett's fifth-straight All-Australian selection and the first time he has been named captain.

There were eight first-time selections - Western Bulldogs defender Robert Murphy, Reid, Thomas, Hawthorn midfielder Sam Mitchell, Carlton onballer Marc Murphy, Cloke, Saints small forward Stephen Milne, Geelong midfielder James Kelly and North Melbourne key forward Drew Petrie.

Among the players who can consider themselves unlucky to miss out on the final 22 were North ruckman Todd Goldstein, Geelong utility Steve Johnson, Hawks defender Grant Birchall and Richmond defender Brett Deledio.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2022 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news