MCC rules Gilchrist's squash ball legal - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

MCC rules Gilchrist's squash ball legal

09/05/2007 03:11:25 AM Comments (0)

Adam Gilchrist was entitled to use a squash ball inside his glove when batting during the World Cup final, cricket's lawmaker says.

The Marylebone Cricket Club said Gilchrist had not acted against the laws or spirit of the game.

"Gilchrist's use of a squash ball was designed to alter his grip on the bat whilst at the crease, something which he was perfectly entitled to do," the MCC said in a statement Tuesday.

Gilchrist scored 149 runs as Australia defeated Sri Lanka by 53 runs in the rain-affected World Cup final on April 28 in Bridgetown, Barbados.

Sri Lanka Cricket secretary Kangadaran Mathivanan objected to Gilchrist's tactic, describing it as unethical and claiming it gave him an unfair advantage.

The MCC said the relevant rule only stated what external protective equipment was allowed.

For batsmen, helmets, pads, gloves and forearm guards are all listed as permitted.

"None has any definition or prescription," the MCC said.

"Since there is no restriction in law even on the external form of batting gloves, let alone the interior thereof, no law has been breached."

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2021 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news