Brock adds to legend with 24-hour win - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Brock adds to legend with 24-hour win

23/11/2003 07:37:49 PM Comments (0)

Peter Brock added to his Bathurst legend when he and his Holden Monaro 05 co-drivers secured a thrilling victory in the 24-hour race at Mount Panorama.

Bathurst 1000 champion Greg Murphy was at the wheel of the car he shared with Brock, Jason Bright and Todd Kelly when he crossed the finish line just 0.3 seconds ahead of their team's second Monaro driven by a charging Garth Tander.

The victory gave the 58-year-old Brock a record 10th endurance race victory on the mountain circuit after his nine Bathurst 1000 wins.

Tander and co-drivers Cameron McConville, Steven Richards and Nathan Pretty could count themselves unlucky, having surrendered the lead they'd held for nine hours just one hour from the finish while having a faulty differential oil pump changed.

Making it an all-Australian hat-trick in an international field, the Porsche GT3 of Peter Fitzgerald, John Teulan, Paul Morris and Scott Shearman was third, although 12 laps behind.

Of the 45 cars that started a day earlier, 33 were still running at the finish.

The two Monaros ran in formation, changing places occasionally from the moment Pretty led the start from pole position.

The late change of lead came as the Tander-McConville-Richards-Pretty car went in for repairs, aided by a safety car appearance which ensured it lost less than a lap.

Tander set off in hot pursuit, but team manager Garry Rogers was heard telling both drivers over the radio to restrain themselves.

When he finally let them off the leash around seven minutes from the finish - with a forceful instruction not to collide - Tander attacked.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2023 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news