Smith is Storm's player of the year - Sports News - Fanatics - the world's biggest events

Smith is Storm's player of the year

04/10/2007 10:15:17 PM Comments (0)

Captain Cameron Smith has capped a stellar NRL season by being voted the Melbourne Storm's player of the year.

Smith led the Storm to their second NRL premiership with a 34-8 trouncing of Manly in Sunday's grand final.

The hooker will also lead Australia in the one-off Test against New Zealand in Wellington later this month in the absence of injured Brisbane star Darren Lockyer.

Fullback Billy Slater picked up two awards at Thursday night's function at Melbourne Park as the Storm members' player of the year and the club's best back.

Other players' awards went to: Dallas Johnson (best forward), Israel Folau (rookie of the year) and Jeff Lima (most improved).

And popular centre Matt King, who is leaving Melbourne to join English Super League club Warrington, picked up the Michael Moore Trophy as the club person of the year.

Brought to you by AAP AAP © 2024 AAP

0 Comments about this article

Post a comment about this article

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Becoming a member is free and easy, sign up here.

« All sports news